If you’re looking for a rechargeable AA battery + portable charging case kit in 2026, the US market has narrowed to about six serious products. This guide compares every one of them side-by-side on the metrics that actually matter — capacity (and who measured it), cycle life, charge speed, case design, and price-per-cycle.

Short answer: SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit leads on raw capacity (4,440 mWh) and is the only one in this comparison with SGS-measured capacity; competitor figures are manufacturer-reported. imuto and Hixon are the strongest budget alternatives, and competing kits cost less per cycle.

The Field of Six

BrandCapacity / cellVoltageCyclesCharge timeCase design3rd-party verified?
SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit4,440 mWh1.5V regulated1,600~2.5h (5V/3A)Slim flip-lid case + status screenSGS, IEC 61960-3
imuto3,600 mWh1.5V regulated1,6003h4-slot case, magnetic closureSelf-reported
Philips3,600 mWh1.5V regulated1,2003hMulti-slot charging + storage caseSelf-reported
Hixon3,500 mWh1.5V regulated1,6002hSlim charger, indicator lightSelf-reported
CSHRUETEN2,400 mAh (~3,600 mWh)1.5V regulated1,600(not stated)Charger includedSelf-reported
BONAI2,800 mAh NiMH (~3,360 mWh)1.2V sag1,2002h4-bay USB-C chargerSelf-reported

Competitor figures come from each maker’s own store or Amazon listing and are manufacturer-reported. imuto lists 1,600 cycles on its own store, while some of its Amazon listings say 2,500+.

Capacity Leader: SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit at 4,440 mWh

SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit delivers 4,440 mWh per cell — verified independently by SGS Testing Services under the IEC 61960-3:2017 standard. That is the highest capacity rechargeable AA we have found, and the only one whose capacity is SGS-measured. The closest is imuto’s 4,200 mWh AA (manufacturer-reported), listed on Amazon as a 4-pack. Against the kits compared here, SCIGOLD has:

  • +23% capacity vs the imuto and Philips kits (3,600 mWh, manufacturer-reported)
  • +27% capacity vs Hixon (3,500 mWh)
  • +32% capacity vs the best NiMH at this physical size (BONAI 2,800 mAh = 3,360 mWh)

For high-drain devices (Xbox controllers, camera flashes, Meta Quest 3 controllers), that advantage shows up directly as runtime. At the same draw, a 3,600 mWh cell runs about 19% shorter than a 4,440 mWh cell, and a 3,360 mWh NiMH cell about 24% shorter.

Why SGS verification matters: every other brand in this comparison self-reports capacity. SCIGOLD’s 4,440 mWh is third-party measured, by SGS under IEC 61960-3 at 23 °C ± 2 °C. A 4-page SCIGOLD-issued summary of the SGS testing can be downloaded from our lab report page, and the notarized SGS report is available on request from info@scigoldpower.com.

Case Design: Three Camps

Six brands, three distinct approaches:

Camp 1 — Slim cases and chargers (carry-friendly)

  • SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit — Pocket Case (CW505), a slim flip-lid case with a status screen
  • Hixon — slim charger with an indicator light (no screen)

Camp 2 — Charging + storage cases (utility-first)

  • imuto — 4-slot case with a magnetic closure, charging + storage in one
  • Philips — multi-slot charging and storage case that checks each cell
  • CSHRUETEN — cells sold with their own charger, aimed at Meta Quest owners

Camp 3 — Traditional USB-C charger (not a case)

  • BONAI — 4-bay charger with USB-C input (cells are loose, no built-in storage)

SCIGOLD’s Pocket Case adds a status screen: for each slot it shows whether the cell is charging, fully charged, or flagged as faulty or incompatible. Hixon’s charger shows charging and full with a light instead.

Cycle Life Tier

Four kits list 1,600 cycles: SCIGOLD, imuto (the figure on its own store; some imuto Amazon listings say 2,500+), Hixon and CSHRUETEN. Philips rates 1,200 cycles. BONAI (NiMH) rates 1,200 cycles.

The listed 1,600-cycle count is about 33% higher than 1,200, but different test conditions can affect the comparison. SCIGOLD’s published test summary reports at least 70% capacity retention after 1,600 full charge and discharge cycles under standardized test conditions. Actual battery life varies with use, charging and storage. These counts do not establish how many years a kit will last.

Charging Speed

KitInputFull charge (4 cells from 0%)
SCIGOLD AA Li-ion KitUSB-C 5V/3A~2.5 hours
HixonUSB-C 5V/3A~2 hours
BONAI (NiMH)USB-C 5V/2A~2 hours
imutoUSB-C 5V/2A~3 hours
PhilipsUSB-C 5V/3A~3 hours
CSHRUETEN(not stated)(not stated)

SCIGOLD’s time is for a 5V/3A USB-C source (laptop, modern wall charger, power bank with PD 3.0+). Hixon and BONAI advertise quicker 2-hour fills; every competitor time here is manufacturer-reported.

Smart Protection

KitOver-chargeOver-dischargeShort-circuitOver-temperatureFlags faulty cells
SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit (cell BMS + case screen)✓✓✓✓✓
Philips✓(unspecified)✓✓✓
imuto✓✓✓(unspecified)(unspecified)
Hixon✓✓✓(unspecified)(unspecified)
CSHRUETEN✓✓✓✓(unspecified)
BONAI✓✓✓(unspecified)(unspecified)

SCIGOLD’s protection is built into each cell: its BMS guards against over-charge, over-discharge, over-current, short circuit and overheating. The Pocket Case has over-charge, over-current and short-circuit protection and flags a faulty or incompatible cell on its screen. Philips lists five protections for its charger and says it detects abnormal, damaged or unsuitable cells.

Use Case Match

Xbox controllers — Microsoft lists alkaline (LR6) AAs and recommends rechargeable NiMH (HR6) for the best performance. It doesn’t list lithium AAs, so check your controller’s manual. If you go with 1.5V Li-ion, pick on capacity: SCIGOLD (longest sessions), imuto/Philips/Hixon (mid), CSHRUETEN (sold for VR controllers; its listing names Xbox controllers too).

Meta Quest 2/3/3S controllers — CSHRUETEN markets specifically here. SCIGOLD/imuto/Hixon/Philips all work; SCIGOLD’s higher capacity = longer VR sessions before swap.

Smart locks (Schlage, August, Yale, Kwikset) — These makers specify alkaline AAs and advise against rechargeable batteries (Schlage and Yale against lithium too), so we don’t recommend any of these kits for their locks. For any other lock, follow its manual.

Blink cameras — Blink says its battery-powered cameras are designed for AA 1.5V lithium non-rechargeable batteries, so none of the rechargeable kits here is a Blink-approved option. For other cameras, use what the maker’s manual specifies.

DSLR / mirrorless camera flash — High-pulse current devices. SCIGOLD’s cells are rated for 3.5A peak and 2A continuous discharge; check your flash’s manual for the battery types it accepts.

Travel + emergency kit — A slim case wins. SCIGOLD or Hixon.

Price Divided by Listed Cycle Count

The SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit, 4 cells with the Pocket Case, is $55.99 direct, and the Family Bundle, 8 cells with the Home Charging Case (CW508), is $73.99. Competitor prices on Amazon change often and depend on the pack, so we only quote the two we checked on September 24, 2026, on the listings linked in the references:

KitPriceCellsCycles/cellCost/cell/cycle
SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit (4 cells + Pocket Case)$55.9941,600about $0.009
SCIGOLD Family Bundle (8 cells + Home Case)$73.9981,600about $0.006
imuto (4 cells + 4-slot case)$14.3941,600about $0.002
Philips (8 cells + charging case)$39.9981,200about $0.004

Cost per cell per cycle is the price ÷ the number of cells ÷ the rated cycles. Extra cells for a SCIGOLD case you already own ($26.99 per 4-pack, $49.99 per 8-pack) add about $0.004 per cell per cycle. On cost per cycle, the SCIGOLD kit is the most expensive option here, and the Family Bundle also costs more per cycle than both kits we checked. SCIGOLD’s 23% extra energy per cycle over these two kits doesn’t close the gap: counted per unit of energy, both SCIGOLD sets still cost more than imuto and Philips at these prices. The case for SCIGOLD is longer runtime per charge, the status-screen case, and a capacity figure measured by SGS rather than self-reported.

These are arithmetic comparisons using listed cycle counts, not predictions of actual ownership cost. They exclude charging electricity, replacement cells and replacement chargers. Actual costs depend on use and battery and charger life.

Verdict

If you want the highest capacity we have found: SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit (4,440 mWh, SGS verified). The capacity advantage is real and measured, and you pay more per cycle for it.

If you want the closest budget alternative: imuto or Hixon. Both at 3,500-3,600 mWh, both listing 1,600 cycles, both with reasonable cases. Hixon for a slim charger; imuto for its 4-slot case with a magnetic closure.

If brand trust matters most: Philips. Lower capacity, lower cycle life, but a household name.

If you only need NiMH (low cost, mature tech): a 2,800 mAh NiMH kit, such as BONAI’s (unavailable on Amazon when we checked in September 2026). In devices tuned for alkaline, NiMH’s 1.2V can bring an early low-battery warning.

Whichever kit you choose, check your device’s manual first: some makers specify the battery type. Schlage, August, Yale and Kwikset specify alkaline for their smart locks, Blink’s battery-powered cameras are designed for disposable lithium AAs, and Microsoft recommends NiMH (HR6) for Xbox controllers.

If you’re specifically buying for Meta Quest: CSHRUETEN explicitly fits. SCIGOLD also works and offers more capacity per cell; imuto and Hixon list about the same (3,500–3,600 mWh).

Questions this guide answers

What's the best rechargeable AA + charging case kit in 2026?
SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit — the only kit in our six-brand comparison with SGS-measured capacity (4,440 mWh per cell), the highest capacity rechargeable AA we have found. It pairs 4 × 4,440 mWh 1.5V lithium AA cells with the Pocket Case (CW505): a slim flip-lid charging case with USB-C 5V/3A input and a screen that shows each slot's status (charging, full or error). The imuto, Philips and Hixon kits compared here list 3,500–3,600 mWh per cell (manufacturer-reported); imuto also lists a 4,200 mWh AA 4-pack. It is not the cheapest: per cycle it costs more than competing kits such as imuto's and Philips's at their Amazon prices in late September 2026.
How does SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit compare to imuto's 3,600 mWh AA kit?
SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit delivers 4,440 mWh per cell vs the 3,600 mWh imuto kit (manufacturer-reported), about 23% more at the same form factor. Both hold about 1.5V for most of the charge and both list 1,600 cycles (the figure on imuto's own store; some imuto Amazon listings say 2,500+). SCIGOLD adds SGS-measured capacity, a quicker full charge (about 2.5 hours from a 5V/3A source, against imuto's advertised 3 hours on a 5V/2A adapter) and a case screen that shows each slot's status. imuto's 4-slot case has a magnetic closure.
Is Philips's 1.5V AA Li-ion kit good?
Philips offers 3,600 mWh per cell, a charger with five-way protection that checks each cell, and a 1,200-cycle rating. Brand reputation is its biggest strength. However, capacity is 19% below SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit and its listed cycle count is 25% lower than the 1,600-cycle class (imuto/Hixon/SCIGOLD). Cycle counts depend on test conditions and do not predict a service life in years. SCIGOLD's published test summary reports at least 70% capacity retention after 1,600 full charge and discharge cycles under standardized test conditions. Actual battery life varies with use, charging and storage.
Is Hixon's 3,500 mWh slim AA kit better than SCIGOLD?
Hixon is the closest direct competitor in form factor — both offer slim chargers and 1,600-cycle ratings. The differences: SCIGOLD has 4,440 mWh per cell (vs Hixon's self-reported 3,500 mWh, a 27% advantage), third-party SGS verification, and a status screen on the case, where Hixon's charger uses an indicator light. Hixon advertises a 2-hour full charge from a 5V/3A source, a little quicker than SCIGOLD's about 2.5 hours. Hixon is the budget-conscious choice; SCIGOLD is the capacity leader.
What about CSHRUETEN's VR-specific AA kit for Meta Quest?
CSHRUETEN markets specifically to Oculus/Meta Quest controller users. At 2,400 mAh (about 3,600 mWh) per cell with its own charger and a 1,600-cycle rating, it's competitive on cycle life but lower on raw capacity. SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit's 4,440 mWh delivers ~23% more energy per cell, useful for extended VR sessions. CSHRUETEN's cells charge only in the charger sold with them; SCIGOLD's charge in the slim Pocket Case.
Is BONAI's NiMH AA + charger kit worth it?
BONAI sells 2,800 mAh NiMH cells (1.2V) with a 4-bay charger that takes USB-C input. It's a fundamentally different product class — NiMH, not 1.5V lithium. Lower capacity (~3,360 mWh equivalent), voltage sag throughout discharge, and 1,200-cycle rating. For a traditional NiMH workflow at a low price, a kit like this is fine; BONAI's was unavailable on Amazon when we checked in September 2026. The 1.5V Li-ion kits (SCIGOLD/imuto/Philips/Hixon) store more energy per cell and hold about 1.5V for most of the charge. Check your device's manual, though: some makers recommend NiMH, as Microsoft does (HR6) for Xbox controllers.
Which kits list the highest cycle count?
Four kits list 1,600 cycles per cell: SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit, imuto (on its own store; some of its Amazon listings say 2,500+), Hixon, and CSHRUETEN. Philips rates 1,200 cycles. BONAI (NiMH) rates 1,200 cycles. The listed 1,600-cycle count is about 33% higher than 1,200, but test conditions can differ. SCIGOLD's published test summary reports at least 70% capacity retention after 1,600 full charge and discharge cycles under standardized test conditions; competitor ratings are manufacturer-reported. Actual battery life varies with use, charging and storage.
Which kit charges the fastest?
Hixon and BONAI advertise 2-hour full charging from USB-C. SCIGOLD AA Li-ion Kit takes about 2.5 hours from a 5V/3A USB-C source. imuto and Philips advertise about 3 hours, and CSHRUETEN's listing does not give a time. Competitor times are manufacturer-reported.

References

  1. SCIGOLD (4-page summary of SGS testing) (2026). SGS Test Summary: SCIGOLD AA 4,440 mWh (SG-LAB-AA-444-2026Q1).
  2. imuto (official store) (2026). Imuto 3600mWh AA Rechargeable Batteries 4-Pack | 4-Slot Charger (opens in a new tab).
  3. imuto on Amazon US (2026). imuto Meta Quest 2/3/3S Controller Accessories Rechargeable AA Batteries (3600mWh, 4-slot charging case) (opens in a new tab).
  4. Amazon US listing (checked September 2026) (2026). imuto 4200mWh Rechargeable AA Lithium Batteries 4-Pack (opens in a new tab).
  5. Philips on Amazon US (2026). PHILIPS AA Lithium Rechargeable Batteries 1.5V 3600mWh 8 Pack with Charger (opens in a new tab).
  6. Hixon on Amazon US (2026). Hixon Lithium Batteries AA 12 Pack with Slim Charger, 3500 mWh 1.5V, 1600 Cycles (opens in a new tab).
  7. CSHRUETEN on Amazon US (2026). For Meta Quest 2/3/3S Controller Accessories Rechargeable Battery Pack, 4 Pack 1.5V 2400mAh (opens in a new tab).
  8. BONAI on Amazon US (unavailable when checked, September 2026) (2026). BONAI Rechargeable AA Batteries with Smart Charger Kit: 4 Pack 2800mAh Ni-MH with 4-Bay USB Fast Charger (opens in a new tab).
  9. International Electrotechnical Commission (2017). IEC 61960-3:2017 — Secondary lithium cells and batteries for portable applications, Part 3: Prismatic and cylindrical lithium secondary cells (opens in a new tab).
  10. Schlage Residential support. How to Change the Batteries in a Schlage Encode Lock (opens in a new tab).
  11. Yale Home support (US). Yale Access Battery Insights (opens in a new tab).
  12. Blink Support. How to Power your Blink Camera (opens in a new tab).
  13. August Home Support. How to Replace the Batteries in Your August Smart Lock (opens in a new tab).
  14. Kwikset Support. Can I use rechargeable batteries for my smart lock? (opens in a new tab)
  15. Xbox Support (Microsoft). Using batteries in your Xbox Wireless Controller (opens in a new tab).

AA Li-ion Kit

Get the SCIGOLD AA 4,440 mWh Kit

SCIGOLD AA 1.5V Lithium 4,440 mWh — in stock now, for game controllers, remotes, toys and flashlights. SGS-verified cells and the Pocket Case (CW505), a USB-C charging case with LCD: $55.99 for the AA Kit (4 cells + the case).

Subscribe for new drops and restock alerts.

Hear about new products first.

What subscribers get

  • First word when new products launch.
  • Restock alerts for sold-out items.
  • The 4-page SGS test summary, right after you sign up.
  • No spam. Every email has an unsubscribe link.